Is It Just Me?

Standard

Is it just me, or is everyone between the ages of 16 and 20 getting pregnant/engaged these days?

I don’t like judging people, but it makes me so angry they aren’t living their lives first.

I know it is easy to mistake obsession and lust for love, and I am in no place to say whether they truly are in love or not… but when I see a nineteen year old engaged to a fifty-something year old after only a month of being with him, I can’t help but shake my head.

I’m all for “age is just a number,” believe me… but there’s got to be a limit, surely. It’d be wrong for a seven year old to date a ninety year old! What happens when you’re in your fifties and your husband dies of old age?

But what’s worse lately is the pregnancies. Okay, nineteen isn’t a terrible age to get pregnant, but I know people who are on their third or fourth child by now. How do you have time to enjoy life? We should be out having fun at this age, not stuck inside on a Saturday evening, watching kid’s TV and changing nappies.

I’m not saying they all make bad parents. I’m sure they love their children as much as any other parent, if not more. In fact, some of the best mums I know were young when they had kids. But there are people who give birth and then dump it on their parents while they go out clubbing every night.

And the majority are already single parents.

If you’re going to be a parent, the child has to come first. And if you have it too early, a lot of your life will be dedicated to that child. Where do you fit in time to achieve your life’s ambitions, to travel and make a name for yourself and just experience¬†everything you can?

But who am I to declare what’s right or wrong. Everyone has different views on everything. These are simply mine.

Leave a Reply

