The Health(ier) Week: Part 2

Standard

So I survived two days of healthier eating. (Holy Hell, you must be thinking sarcastically. You must be a God!) Well I can assure you I’d think the same in your shoes. But I have no willpower when it comes to food, so making it this far without reaching for the Doritos is a breakthrough. Instead, my hand is wandering towards the banana.The fruit, guys, take your mind out of the gutter.

Day Three – The Honey Monster

Breakfast: Honey nut cornflakes
Second Breakfast: 9Bar and an apple

Lunch: Pita bread strips with tzatziki dip
Dinner:
 Jerk Chicken… sort of.


Breakthrough people, breakthrough… I’m eating whole fruit! Without anything with it! Without it being mushed down into a smoothie!

…I didn’t enjoy it though. Apples hurt my teeth and are incredibly messy without bringing a knife to work…

For dinner I gave Jamie Oliver another chance. After trying and enjoying it at Turtle Bay, making my own jerk chicken seemed like a good idea. At the time.

Having not read the recipe properly before I went shopping, I had to make a few alterations. For one, I don’t own a grill pan. I didn’t have any rum. Or chillis. Or white wine vinegar. Or all spice. I didn’t really have a lot of anything, so I switched the rum for sake, the all spice for Chinese 5 spice and the white wine vinegar for normal vinegar. And then went mad scientist and added some lime juice, soy sauce and a dollop of mustard. Goodbye Caribbean, hello China. I had plenty of honey though, so that’s good.

I served the Cherk chicken with roasted sweet potatoes and steamed veg.

ajerk

Basically… Don’t try this unless you can follow the recipe properly. It was edible, but it wasn’t enjoyable, so I followed it up with some honey roasted peanuts and camomile and spearmint tea.

Hint from a friend: If you detest the weird, greasy taste of flavoured tea like I do, stir a spoonful of honey in. Somehow it takes the grease away and makes it taste much better.


 

Day Four – You Bokin Wok M8!

Breakfast: Honey Nut Cornflakes
Second Breakfast: Brown toast and coffee (Oops)
Lunch: Ham, salami and salad pita, banana, 9Bar
Dinner: Chicken stir fry


I got hungry and gave in to some toast. Bread practically makes up most of my diet. There have been days where I’ve had toast for breakfast, a sandwich for lunch and pizza with garlic bread for dinner. At least this toast was brown!

After the disaster of last night’s meal, I decided to stick to something I know I can cook well; stir fry.

Don’t forget to take notes, kids! My own recipe for once:

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breast (1 per person)
  • Noodle nest (1 per person)
  • Vegetables.* In mine: carrot, baby corn and broccoli
  • Bok choy, or ordinary cabbage as a substitute
  • Spring onion and regular onion
  • Ground ginger
  • Chinese five spice
  • Sweet chilli sauce
  • Dark soy sauce
  • Garlic clove, chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • Half a lime (Leftovers)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

*All veg are subject to taste and you can use as many or as few as you like. I would’ve had beansprouts but once again my trusty friend Tesco had sold out.

Method:

  1. Dice the chicken into cubes and fry off in hot oil in a large wok.
  2. Meanwhile, chop the garlic and prep the broccoli, baby corn and any other harder veg you want to cook. Once the chicken has browned, add all of this to the wok.
  3. Boil some water and leave your noodles to cook, swirl with a fork occasionally.
  4. Keep stirring the wok (it ain’t Stir fry for nothin’) and multitask like a champion to get your onion, spring onions and cabbage chopped, as well as coat your chicken with a layer of ginger and Chinese five spice.
  5. Add the chopped cabbage, stir for a while, then all of the onions. Peel carrot shavings into the wok.
  6. Carefully pour in the soy sauce. Not too much that it drowns out every other flavour; maybe a tablespoon? I don’t really measure, just wing it! Experiment with how much you put in and learn the hard way. I certainly did…
  7. Add sweet chilli sauce and lime juice, and as a surprise twist (that I plopped in the wok on a last minute whim) add a tablespoon of peanut butter! It was so, so good. It makes the sauce like Chinese satay, but much more subtle.
  8. Lastly, drain off the noodles and add them into the mix, stirring thoroughly until the sauce is mixed and everything is mixed in the sauce.

img_7962-2

You’re welcome. 🙂


So far so good, I think. Definitely craving pizza right now though. Only three more days…!

Leave a Reply

