Dawn: Contrast Cosplay

As soon as I saw the trailer for Contrast I wanted to play it. I loved the concept of the game and the visuals were stunning. So I decided to cosplay as Dawn for this year’s Manchester MCM Expo.

Materials and Purchases:

Black boob tube: £4 (Boohoo.com)
Black and white striped leggings: £8 (Boohoo.com)
Yellow Material: £2.99 per square metre (Derby Market)
Black braces: Already owned (Primark)
Black boots: Already owned (Primark)
Black scarf: £3 (Primark)
Black shorts: My own, no idea how much they cost (Probably Primark, possibly Dorothy Perkins)
Red underbust corset: £12.99 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00IJ0WQCI/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)
Long black gloves: £5 (Local fancy dress shop)
Black hair dye: £4 (Bodycare)
Orange and yellow eyeshadow: £4 (Superdrug)
Pink blusher: £2.99 (Superdrug)
Fake eyelashes: £3.85 (ASDA)
Buttons and ribbon to decorate.

DSC00293

Total spends: £50.72

And minimal sewing! We only had to sew the yellow material to the boob tube, and the little details I wanted to add for perfectionist purposes (the buttons, ribbon, and pattern on the shorts, the buttons and white paint on the braces and the buttons on the gloves).

The altered parts of the costume
The altered parts of the costume

I would have bought a wig instead of hair dye, but hair dye is cheaper, and I couldn’t find one in the right style anyway.
It seems quite expensive at first (though nothing compared to some costumes), but I’ll reuse most of the stuff, especially the corset and the leggings.

Make-up wise, I started with my usual foundation, then brushed talcum powder over my face to look pale enough for the pink to show. I layered my eyelids with yellow and orange eyeshadow and then used felt tip eyeliner and gel eyeliner, before putting on fake eyelashes and the pink cheek stuff.
I’m no expert with make-up, but I was quite pleased with what I achieved:

DSC00183

And this is the final product:

DSC00187

A big thanks to the Expo for being epic, and all the amazing costumes I saw with so much work put into them, including Rimmer and Mr. Flibbles, Blackthorn Morgana, Booker Dewitt and Gentleman Deadpool.
Plus I met Andrew-Lee Potts, who said, “Cool costume!” So I was happy 😀

:D
😀

Leave a comment